In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood After Talk

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

We were asked to have a go at creating a Penguin book cover for either a children’s book, or an adult book. This was to enter a national competition, were somebodies attempt at a book cover would be chosen. The two options to choose from were In Cold Blood by Truman Capote or the secret diary of Adrian Mole by Sue Townsend. I decided to go for the adult cover, which would be In Cold Blood as I had more interest within that book than the children’s book.

I hadn’t read this book before but I had heard about it. This is what drew me towards it in the first place. As I haven’t read the book, I needed to get some basic knowledge of it before I started to design a book cover for it. I found that it was a true story, wrote in the style of a novel based on the murder of the Clutter family in Holcomb. I wanted to pick out parts of the story that I felt to be important and that I could base some designs around. Within the story, the 2 murderers steal a radio and a pair of binoculars from the victims. I found this important as they were the only items taken as they were not able to gather any cash. I took the binoculars further, thinking more deeply into it. I realised that If I could use this item to create a mysterious design, trying to indicate the item and relate it back towards the murderers to give of some sort of clue to the story line without giving away too much.

With the design, I decided to main only use shades of black. This is the colour of death and would be a good representation of this story. Because of this I chose to use a limited palette and stick to as little colours as possible and just the shades of black. This really adds towards the storyline of the book giving the audience a better sense of what was to come. I used a small amount of red within the text, trying to show that blood would be involved. It makes the word blood stand out, making you instantly think that something bad was going to happen. This would be to reflect the true story of the two murders that happened. I took the item binoculars, that were stolen from the property after the murders, and used it in the background of the cover. I did this to enhance part of the storyline without giving too much away. I only used the outline to keep the text the first point of view. This is what I intended the audience to look at first, getting a cold idea about the book.

This is something that I wanted to revisit and develop the cover more. I want to work more into the typography and try and give it more depth. This would really enhance the foreground and make it more difficult to see the background. This would be done by maybe indenting the text into the page and adding a shadow. I think this would draw more people’s attention towards the book.

Leave a Reply

